A collection of garden things.

Because I don’t have enough congruent thoughts to write an essay-like post and I haven’t been struck by a particular poem.

BEES

Reuters reports on recent research providing insight on the disappearing bee problem. It might look like hippie dippie bullshit to Penn & Teller, but if the research is right, expect foodways to change in the near future. It could get worse, or it could get better, and, while I hope for the best, my experiences with corproate think make me doubtful.

….AND MY GARDEN

Fall is here. It remains my favorite season, of course, but as far as the garden goes, it’s also time to start getting in the last of the harvest. My freezer is full of greens, and I don’t know that I can get a whole lot more in there. I learned a bunch of valuable lessons about my yard and its idiosyncrasies:

1. My yard is excellent for growing greens and potatoes.

2. The local infestation of squirrels makes it unlikely that I will try to grow more than a few tomato and squash plants next year. I spent so much on repellents, I tried every suggested remedy, and short of covering my whole yard with an electric fence, I am not sure there is a lot I can do. I will keep trying the various recommended remedies, however, because sooner or later I will figure out from what that tree rat will run. For now, it’s just less expensive to walk over to the farmer’s market for those things the rodents find so attractive.

2a. Fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and water make a better pasta sauce than anything I buy in a can.

3. Volunteers from the compost pile are fun! However, they don’t always grow on a Wisconsin time line. It took all spring and summer for this guy to reveal his true nature:


Butternut squash

I may not get to eat it, but I enjoyed the mystery all summer.

4. Things to do over the winter: learn about ways to fight slugs, earwigs, and ants. If I am going to grow a lot of greens, I am going to have to spend a lot of time drowning slugs.

5. I intend to build a new bed this fall, in the side yard. It will be fenced, maybe even hooped. Hoop houses. Hm.

This entry was posted in Forest Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.