What to do?

My first try at canning tomatoes.

So, there you have it, the first attempt at canning tomatoes. I’ve done water bath canning in the past, but it has usually been things like pickles, jams, and Things Which Were Not Appropriate For Water Bath Canning And So Had To Be Pitched. I have a super duper fear of spoiled food, so you better believe I do everything I can to preserve food safely. So these tomatoes were cooked. Not just hot packed, but cooked before I canned ’em. The easiest thing to do would have been to just make a sauce I like and freeze it, but I do not have a whole lot more room in my freezer. It’s full of greens.

Which means that pretty soon, I am going to have to figure out how to cook pickled greens and can that up. I’ll also have to can it in small amounts, as Michael does not like pickled things very much. I’ll have to ask the Facebook Hive Mind for suggestions on canning pickled greens. I don’t think it should be a problem, there are pickled grape leaves and so forth out there in the world, so pickled greens (particularly with a bit of jalapeno, yum) should be do-able. I don’t have a pressure canner, so it’s have to be things that are safe for water bath canning.

Also, I have it in my mind to do some frugal clothing things. I’ve done Wardrobe Refashion in the past, but it’s defunct now. Still, I thought I might sign up for life, just for my own benefit. I have so many clothes, so many bins of cloth, that doing something entertaining with it all is something I would like to get behind. This is related to my concept of enough, my feeling like I realy do not need to buy more stuff because I already have more than I can use. IT would be incorrect to say that I’ll never buy a new dress. Of course I will; things will sometimes need to be purchased. Still, I’d like to see how much I can use up, how far I can go. Hand me downs, thrift stores, and sewing machines have always been my buddies. How fa can I go before I have to spend money? With that in mind, I did a little refashioning today, discussed here. High fashion this is not, but nice for fall casual.

This entry was posted in Forest Gardening, Green and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do?

  1. jodi says:

    People do pickle cabbage and can it for long term storage, so I’m sure that other cabbage-family greens would work just as well. I thought I was nearly done with canning for the season (just the pickled garlic left to go) but you’ve inspired me, and now I think I’ll put up some kale and Brussels sprouts before the canning kettle gets stored away for winter. And maybe some curry-spiced cabbage like you get at the Iraqi restaurant. I will bring you some in November!

    Like

  2. admin says:

    As it happens, I have three quarts of collard kraut fermenting as of today. We will see how it turns out. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.