MMM. Apples.

Fair Use: Altered screen shot of an image found on the Olde Hansa website, used to illustrate what an apple moyle might look like. And Olde Hansa looks like and AWESOME place and you should google it and go look when you are done here.

Why, I ask myself, would anyone eat plain apple sauce when they can so easily eat apple moyle? I have not purchased apple sauce in years, and I mostly eat fresh apples. Every once in a while, though, a few apples get away from me, start to become shrivelled and dried and, while still quite edible, just not the same as when it’s fresh off the tree. This is when I have apple moyle. I would have taken a picture to show you… but, as the cats say, I eated it. The above photo features a sweet dish in the center that could be an apple moyle, or it could be a rice pudding, but in any event, it gives you a good idea of what it might look like.

The great thing about medieval cooking is that there are a hundred different ways to interpret the dish, and they could all be right. Before I opened this entry, I popped over to Medieval Cookery to check on the number of apple moyle recipes I could find,and there were at least a dozen. There are more; I did not search on every conceivable term that might have turned up applemus.

This is how I like to make it.

Core as many apples as you have that are appropriate to cook. Don’t peel them unless you are planning to can this. Chop up and boil the apples in just enough water to cover them and let them move freely in the pan; every so often, mash them with a masher. When they are mashed enough to give the appearance of a chunky and perhaps still a little crunchy applesauce, add at least a half cup of almond milk and orgeat to taste. Spice with powdered cinnamon, cloves, white pepper, ginger. Get all this blended well and bubbling. Mash a bit more. At this point, you might consider adding powdered milk (dairy or vegetable milk powder, whatever you use)– this is a personal choice, a couple of spoonfuls can make this seem a little creamier if you started with too much water. Your other option is to let some of the water cook off. When it’s all blended and simmering nicely, add a tablespoon or two of butter or olive oil. Taste again, adjust spices if needed. If you have sliced or slivered raw almond, throw a handful in there. If you have chia seeds, throw a spoonful of those in there, too, for a little more nutrition. Stir it all up, takle it off the heat, and cover for a minute or two to warm the almonds, and then enjoy! Also good after being chilled overnight.

Note, if you are going can this, you will need to use a pressure canner.

Man, I love this so much. I tend to go heavy on the orgeat, because I like the almond and flower essence flavors. If you don’t have ogreat, use honey + almond extract. When I do this, I usually skip the rosewater, as the honey adds its own flavor.

Maybe someday I will determine specific measurements. Or not.

This entry was posted in SCA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.