The Ninth of January, 2017.

I knew she was sick, but I did not know that she was that sick. Moraig has passed. That is an event that is worthy of the persona blog, don’t you think?

It is a new year, and I want new events for it. I want to stop fucking around on the internet. I never do anything useful any more. I just read shit. And if I was sitting in my living room reading fiction or biography or whatever, I would count that as time well spent, but I have not been reading such things on the internet. On the internet I pintrest and I look for recipes and other boring stuff like that. I mean, I like to cook, and canning has brought me a good deal of joy (and a ridiculous amount of work; only the fact that I can have things I would not otherwise eat keeps me going. I don’t waste my time with green beans and such; those are better frozen, anyway), but a lot of this time is spent on fucking mommie blogs, and I really dislike those. Or “Lifestyle” blogs.

Ye gods and little fishes.

Okay, can I talk for a minute about how much I dislike reading a lifestyle blog? I did not hate them, at first. They just seemed like a pretty way to share what was going on in a given person’s projectland. But then… The damn things fucked like rabbits and now there are billions and billions of these blogs, all full of people stealing each other’s recipes and claiming to have a genius hack for your ice that will totally blow your mind and change your life. And, ta-da, the genius hack is “use an ice cube tray” or some other banality.

And Jesus Hortense Christ, the ads. The blinking and blinking and the spinning and spinning and the script-failing and the script-failing: seizure inducing. Any second Kirk the Jerk is going to pop up on my screen and go bat shit crazy from all the spinning and blinking and script-failing.

Don’t get me started on the comment sections of these things.

It would be fair to say that these are not really blogs. They are really more a single-author pamphlet series published on the internet.

And I am digging through pages and pages of bad photography and ads to get to the two or three paragraphs of meaningful content, wasting my time all the while.

So I’m going to start thinking about the last place I was happy with my Internet participation, and start rebuilding from there. It’s easy to make a New Year’s resolution list. It’s even easier to fail to complete them. So I’m not gonna bother with a resolution this year. I’m going to have a plan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.